Skin Gritting

You’ve probably heard about this new craze of skin cleansing sweeping the internet-its supposed to be the revolutionary way to remove blackheads-and I need to try it.

The way it’s done, is you first cleanse your face with an oil cleanser, then apply a clay mask. After you rinse the clay mask, cleanse your face with the oil cleanser again and the blackheads just pop out into a wonderfully disgusting pile to your hands.

There’s some debate as to whether or not the debris is actual blackheads or just remnants of the clay mask, but people love and swear by it. There are tons of photographic evidence of the results on the internet (blackheads that were scrubbed off of the face on people’s hands, etc) so google if you must-they’re kinda gross and it’s breakfast time so I won’t subject you.

Would you or have you tried this? Thoughts?

Talk soon Lovelies

-Allie

24 thoughts on “Skin Gritting

  1. Allie,
    My tween twin girls do this. They love it, and their face looks great. The only thing is the remnants of the mask after the peel are all over! They need to be neater!!!!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. So the way I do it is – BHA applied, then clay mask, then wash off mask, then use oil to very gently massage nose and other area with ‘blackheads’. These blackheads usually are sebaceous filaments. Which are normal and everyone has them. They appear darker than your skin colour as the top of the filament oxidises. Always massage gently for only 5 mins or so. Any extra pressure can burst capillaries which require lasers to fix. Also note, it can take several weeks of repeating the process before some people get ‘grits’ that are large and noticeable out.

    Liked by 3 people

      • To be honest – the best thing I ever introduced to my regime was the BHA. For those who are unaware, BHA are beta hydroxy acids. It is a chemical exfoliant that is usually good for acne prone skin, oily skin, and sebaceous filaments. Americans are so lucky as you have Stridex pads in the red box, which is 2% salicylic acid (the BHA) at the perfect ph (needs to be less than 3-4 pH for any acids to work as an exofliant) for so cheap. They also have no alcohol making them so perfect. Can’t get them here 😦

        I struggle to get decent sized grits, but they do come out. I’ve seen for some people it does wonders. I need to experiment with a different oil I think.

        Like

  3. Off Topic. I follow 2 WordPress sites – this one & Mousecara’s but today when I went to WordPress, only Mousecara’s was visible. I checked my settings & somehow I was no longer a follower here – which is strange because I never unfollowed. Okay, maybe some sort of a glitch, but then I check out my email & all of a sudden after nearly 2yrs I’m getting notifications from you-know-who. Weird! According to the date/time stamps, appears it happened in the past 24hrs.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. I had never heard of this method! Thanks to this post, I just spent entirely too much time reading articles and watching videos! A bit gross- but also mesmerizing!

    I’m a bit leary to try, but it’s way interesting! My skin has gotten so much drier over the last few years so I don’t get blackheads nearly as frequently as I used to. I moisturize the heck out of my face & neck, ritually.

    If you try it, please let us know!

    PS- is there an at home microdermabrasion treatment that any of you have used and recommend?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Janey Mae, do you mean a scrub? Or a machine? I’ve seen many people swear by the facial brush which of course I can’t remember the name of. I think I’m having a senior moment.:)

    I have heard of this process where women shave their face and it works as an exffolant. I have read that women in other countries do this and their skin is beautiful. I don’t know if it promotes collagen or what.
    I worry about having to keep it up. It is called something else, planing? I’ll look for it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

