Subscription Boxes & Pupcakes


I’m looking into getting another subscription beauty box-I’ve had Boxycharm and Ipsy for a few months now and I think it’s time to add a new member to the family. I poked around the internet today and found a couple I like, just can’t decide. I checked out the Allure one, also the Amazon Luxury Beauty Box, but it looks like you need to have Amazon Prime, which I am too cheap to have so that’s a nope. 

Next is LiveGlam from which you can choose the lipstick version, nail polish version, or the Morphe brush version and this one is 19.99$. I’m liking the brush option. Link below:

https://liveglam.com/

The Lip Love by So Susan is another one I’m interested in, and it’s $20.95 monthly. Link for this one below:

http://www.liplove.sosusan.com/

Then there’s BeautyCon but that’s only 4x a year. Some good stuff though, $29.

https://beautycon.com/box/

And of course Allure, which I’m definitely leaning towards. $15 monthly.

https://subscribe.allure.com/subscribe/allure/104181?source=Engage_ID_186691
And here’s the Pupcakes recipe for anyone who’s interested!

1 egg

1/4 cup peanut butter

1/4 cup vegetable oil 

1 tsp vanilla

1/3 cup honey

1 cup shredded carrots

1 cup flour

1 tsp baking soda 

Preheat oven to 350. Combine egg, peanut butter, honey, oil, and vanilla, mix well. Stir in shredded carrots, mix thoroughly. Add flour and baking soda to mixture, stir. Spoon mixture into cupcake tins (I used mini size, and if you don’t have cupcake baking cups just grease or spray with Pam). It made 24 mini cupcakes, I baked them for 10 mins. For regular sized cupcakes maybe 12-14 mins? Just keep checking. And there you have it, happy birthday doggie Pupcakes.

Talk soon Lovelies 

-Allie

50 thoughts on “Subscription Boxes & Pupcakes

  1. I found the blog my subscription addiction had the best reviews & spoilers for all types of boxes. I signed up for Birchbox and got my first box, I received a free eyeshadow pallets and this weekend I will test the product. I am going to give it another month to see if I stick with it. My ipsy should be here tomorrow so I can’t wait. How do you like ipsy? Thank you for introducing me to make up, I stopped wearing it two years ago during Chemo and since following you I got my groove back.

    Liked by 7 people

    • You’re welcome-thank you for reading! I love that website-I peek at the spoilers every month even though I tell myself I won’t. I might do the Allure one-there’s a free palette when you sign up and I’m a sucker for free makeup. My Ipsy won’t be here til Monday or Tuesday (grr) so I’ll post a review. I was underwhelmed last month-mostly by the Barbie-sized bronzer, but this month looks much better. My boxycharm was shipped from a town 20 minutes away to a town 2 hours away in MA only to backtrack here so won’t be here til Monday either. They did that last month-Wallingford CT, to Northboro MA, to Windsor CT, then to my local post office. Whyyyyyyyyy.

      Liked by 3 people

      • Ipsy has me ticked about that stupid bronzer last month. Uncalled for. Then they send me another tiny bronzer (the balm) this month. I did receive my Ipsy on Thursday. I still don’t know where my boxycharm is. I thought they shipped out of Florida for some reason.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG Amazon Prime is worth every penny f that $99 a year. Seriously, just the free 2 day shipping alone is worth it, then you get free movies too!!! I might have to check out the Amazon Boxes. Hmmmmm

    Liked by 5 people

  3. If I do any type of box, it would be the Morphe….I wish they would add their single shadows and pressed pigments in the box.

    On a separate note, Kylie’s new highlighters are getting horrible reviews. Some people actually got EMPTY pans when their order finally came. They did not send any PR packages out, so anyone who reviewed them bought them out of pocket. I’m kind of glad they did, I feel when they get the stuff for free they aren’t quite as honest with their review. As one person stated, she could slap her name on tap water and these idiots would buy it. I’m glad my daughter isn’t a teenager….if she asked me for any Kylie product, the answer would be a big fat NO.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yes! I saw an indie shadow creator compare her hilights to Kylie. Kylies were $40 more.I could barely see Kylie’s compared to other product. It was like a nightlight compared to hi beams on a car. I’m looking for an opal hi lighter

      Liked by 1 person

      • Well you’re in luck Dee…I got the NYX Duo Chromatic Highlight in Twilight Tint. They are pretty much dupes for Kat Von D’s Alchemist Palette. My daughter got the Kat one, I was kinda shocked at how small the pans were, reminds me of Allie’s Barbie bronzer. The Twilight Tint would be the one to get if you want Opal. Like the Alchemist palette, you can use these on your eyes and lips as well.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve seen the crappy reviews! Plus I guess another major complaint is that they finger swatch really well but when applied there’s like, zero pigment. Plus the pics that Kylie shows has them really brilliant and pow in your face, but even the finger swatches don’t show that. I think a lot of her stuff is garbage. Her lipsticks? Meh. All of her stuff for me is just so overrated. I’m actually really considering the Morphe one.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. sheanv….I’ve been painting my face for 35 years, so I’m pretty proficient at doing makeup – brows are the bane of my existence. I’m very fair with light blonde hair, my brows and lashes are almost invisible without makeup. I have brow pencils, enhancers, gels and powder. The only thing I’ve not tried is the pomade. I’ve discovered that the powder is the easiest thing to apply, and for me the most natural looking. I do not like the “angry bird” or “instagram” eyebrows people have been sporting.
    I do have a YBF Universal Brow Pencil I’ll use if I’m doing a full-glam look, and a NYX Push Up Bra Pencil, it’s not so soft that you apply too much, and the light end is a dupe for Benefits High Brow. You put it under your brow to make it look higher. I’ve bought a couple different brow powders, and believe it or not the Wet & Wild Ultimate Brow Kit is the one I’ve been using for years. It has two shades, a wax the brush and comes with little tweezers. I don’t use the darker shade or the wax, as with my brows being so light and they aren’t unmanageable. A little goes a long way, so you have to be very light handed. We went on a trip and somehow I forgot to pack that, so I went to a store and bought a higher end powder….I hated it. It was dry, fell out onto my lids and I looked like Tammy-Faye Baker.
    I hope that helps….I’m very happy to hear that you’ve been Cancer free for two years.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hated brow pomade. Haaaaated. I’ve bought a million different brow products and I always go back to a plain old basic Wet N Wild brown brow pencil. With a light hand it just fills them in and I clean them up w concealer. I wanted the fancy stuff to work so I could be hip but alas it’s not in the cards. 😉 it’s funny, the different things that work for different people.

      Like

  5. So I had my eyebrows dyed today. I can totally throw away my eyebrow powders, pencils and gels. I have them all and use the wet and wild the most as well. I have everything from anastasia to lancome to nyx. They look amazing and it only cost $20. I want to do the microblading and we happen to have one of the top 5 places in the nation right here. I just don’t have an extra $400 to blow on that. I guess tires are more important that frames for the windows to my soul.

    Liked by 3 people

  6. If anyone is interested in trying the best mineral foundation I’ve found, Lucy Minerals is having a 20% off sale until midnight Sat. They have great sample sizes so you can find your perfect shade. I love their Ambrosia oil, which is an essential oil blend that’s so wonderful — you can sample it for $5!
    http://lucyminerals.com/

    Liked by 3 people

    • So another purchase made and it turns out they are here in central Florida. I must go to the shop. So much money spent and I choowe to blame the blog

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

