Feud


Ok-who watched? What did you think? I-LOVED-it!!!  Love love. And was that the “c” word I heard?? Ha! FX doesn’t give a shit anymore. They’ve been pushing the envelope for a while-I mean, some of the stuff they got away with on SoA? Just an observation-it doesn’t offend me.

I didn’t know Catherine Zeta Jones was on it-hubs insisted it was Melanie Griffith-ah, no. Hubs. No.

The next “Feud” is going to be on Charles and Diana, I hear. Can’t wait to see that one too.

Thoughts?

Talk soon Lovelies

-Allie

78 thoughts on “Feud

  1. Wasn’t UF a huge Jessica Lange fan?!? I bet he would have loved it.

    I didn’t watch – still playing Single Mom but my husband comes home tonight. I am also getting packed up for Beverly Hills.. I know Jiggy & Harrison are going to love me since I have a Pomeranian too..

    For the record — I have never abused prescription drugs.

    Liked by 8 people

  2. I loved it! I can’t believe how detailed and and juicy it was. I don’t want to give anything away for anyone so yes Allie, I floved it! It may be on demand for anyone that missed it.
    Charles and Di would be great. I love everything Diana and so much of their scandal hasn’t been on U.S. t.v. I feel conflicted about it though. Always feel for the boys when these are made, but they’re not children anymore. I also doubt they sit down to watch this stuff, so I hope they make it juicy.

    Liked by 5 people

    • I switched to Verizon a year & a half ago & I hate it. If there’s something I missed & really wanted to watch – odds are it never comes on On-Demand.

      Just checked & par for the course it’s not listed. 😠 Leaves me no other choice but to look for other options – & quickly before they’re removed for copyright violations.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oveish, No need to wait. Scroll up (or down depending on where this lands) & see my earlier comment that includes the link to watch directly from the FX website.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Loved it! Cannot wait for the others. Love the movie & both actresses & TCM aired it a few days ago. Sad note – Robert Osborne died today. Series has many excellent actors in it similar to Horror Story series.

    Liked by 4 people

    • Oh sorry to hear about Robert Osborne, I miss seeing him on TCM he hasn’t been on in quite a while. I was really looking forward to watching Feud and had it set to record. So yesterday I sit down to watch and on no! Only 1 minute of the show taped! I was so bummed! Don’t you just hate that? The one time your really looking forward to watching something and it’s not there! Fortunately it was being shown again so I was able to record it but I haven’t had a chance to watch yet. Am glad to hear so many of you loved it! With Jessica Lange and Susan Sarandon in it how could it be bad?!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Poor Robert had been sick for sometime & had first taken a leave of absence then had to retire. He was friends with many of old Hollywood stars & an actor himself in the beginning so he knew plenty of stories & gossip. Nothing more annoying than thinking you have recorded some show only to find out it didn’t or only recorded a portion of it. Enjoy!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Had been looking foward to watching & even wrote myself a note so not to forget. Note got buried & I forgot. Damn. Now I’m going to have to wait & hope it comes on On-Demand.

    Liked by 3 people

      • Thanks Deja. I hadn’t thought of that. Just went directly to http://www.fxnetworks.com & it’s available for the next 108 days. After being prompted to enter provider, movie started right up – but only the sound.😠

        ….. Okay tried again, this time with the iPad & both sound & picture are perfect — which is even better because now I don’t have to sit in front of my PC to watch. You made my night. 😘

        Liked by 1 person

    • addie, I forgot it too. They are showing it again tonight on FX at 2:00 EST. I will be up watching at that hour but if you can’t you can always record it. I can’t believe that I forgot. I was really looking forward to seeing it. At least I get another shot at it.

      Liked by 5 people

      • Hannah – if you don’t want to stay awake to watch at 2am, I just included the direct link above so you can watch at any time.

        ETA – Principles won’t allow me to have a DVR. I refuse to pay an extra $10+/month on a already outrageous cable bill.

        And before I forget again . . Happy, Happy belated Birthday. ❤️🎂😘

        Liked by 1 person

      • My Comcast OnDemand seems to wait 12-24 hours before making previous days 1st run of a show available. I watch everything possible via DVR. Even when watching a show at it’s regular time, I wait 20 minutes then start watching so I can still ffwd through the ads. I set up my recordings for the week on Sunday. Lately, they have “to be announced” for some just 4 days out on the program schedule. If so, I go back through that process of shows to be recorded a second time during yhe week. My cable was out all last night after 12 AM. Without stored shows on DVR still being accessible, I would’ve had a long anxiety attack. Chronic insomnia is hell!

        Like

      • I’m amazed. How do you guys find so much to dvr? I can’t find anything to watch on TV most nights. I’d be lost if I didn’t have Netflix or acorn tv.

        Like

      • I find some days are overloaded with things I like. I search a lot of channels. I don’t pay for HBO or Netflix type access. My bill is too high without it. I search and record some movies for the lean times. I really like some shows like Gold Rush, Digging for treasure on Oak Island, which has completed it’s season. I like the ancestry search shows of all kinds, and several PBS shows, nothing currently. I actually don’t have DVR space to pick up everything I want to see or try out. I have been recording true crime inventigations on ID recently for lean times. Some are fascinating. I end up having to delete some things to make room for something better coming up.

        Like

  5. I loved it! Judy Davis as Hedda Hopper is perfect casting! Oh, and the daughter of Betty and Don Draper of Mad Men plays Bette Davis’ daughter B.D. She’s really grown up, wow. I love Bette Davis and watched her interviews on The Dick Cavett Show on youtube. She’s such a unique personality. I never read either of the books written by JC or BD’s daughters but have heard enough about them to get the gist. Sad. And never watched the movie Mommy Dearest with Faye Dunaway…her eyebrows scared me off LOL.

    Liked by 3 people

    • I admire both actresses work. I read their daughters books many years ago & their autobiographies & a couple of biographies about both. They were very interesting characters & certainly had their flaws & regrets in life. Don’t believe all the things their daughters wrote but can see both being difficult to live with & hard to be in their shadows. Their work however stands up & overcomes a couple of bitter books. Just greater shame the books came from their kids.

      Liked by 3 people

      • I agree. It sort of skeeves me out when kids write unflattering books about celeb parents. They weren’t complaining when they got the perks! Then they’re surprised when it gets them written out of the will. Betcha in 20 yrs one of Angelina Jolies kids will write a book. Watch.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Joan’s daughter wrote her book after her mother death b/c in part she was excluded from the will. Bette’s daughter wrote hers before. Good call on the Jolie clan. I am guessing one of Madonna kids will write one.

        Like

    • OOOHH!!! Hedda Hopper and Louella Parsons would be GREAT for Feud. I’ve seen movies about them, but it would be great to have a fresh take on it. I love “Old Hollywood.” They KNEW how to dress!!!

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I loved Feud. I Googled to see how long ago they died and ran across a couple of reviews that were interesting. One article was written by show script writing partner. Another talked about how close it is to real facts, or not. Most of it is, with just some liberties taken about when things actually happened. Anything seeming to be extreme, like the hate or plastic on everything, has actually been toned down.

    I watched on DVR from recording made at nearly 1 AM. I wondered for a second if the late hour permitted them to use the 2 normally bleeped words. Then realized that would be crazy to broadcast 2 versions. I wasn’t offended and bet those 2 old broads, a term from their day, frequently said worse. Being a senior citizen, I imagine I can relate to some nuances of the show better than young people.

    I, too, can imagine UF delighting in this series.

    Liked by 4 people

  7. Finally something good to watch on tv. Loved it !!! Joan Crawford was one scary woman.
    I don’t know how I feel about a Charles and Diana Feud. I believe she got a raw deal with Charles. I love her boys and am glad they seem have happiness. They both got their Mom’s humanity and empathy genes.

    Liked by 2 people

    • I doubt it’s possible but I hope Queen Elizabeth bypasses Charles and “retires” or whatever you call it and anoints William to be king. I can’t stand Charles or Camilla after the horrendous way they treated Diana. In my fantasy, William and Harry kick them both to the curb for treating their mother so badly. Hey, it could happen lol.

      Liked by 1 person

    • The only thing that I’m dreading, every time there’s been a Diana movie they make the Diana actress wear the worst wigs on the planet. Even Naomi Watts had a crap wig. Come ON! Diana had an iconic hairstyle-try a little harder.

      Liked by 3 people

      • I don’t like that Diana’s sons likely suffer some whenever another telling of her story is released. I still watch, voyeur that I am. I really wish we knew what version of her death is true, regarding any foul play. I doubt there was, but I doubted Charles would marry Camilla.

        I picture in my head that Camilla nags him to try to convince the Queen to retire. I also picture Liz trying to outlive Chuck.

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I loved it. So glad you posted a blog for it. Susan Sarandon could have been more Bette Davis imo but still. I love the Baby Jane movie. It’s a favorite and I’m only 41 years young. I saw it a few years back and could watch it everyday. My biggest problem is that I also love Mommie Dearest and often confuse the real Joan Crawford with Faye Dunaway who’s portrayal of Joan made me never to this day have wire hangers in my house. I can’t wait until next Sunday! As for the “C” word, I was shocked for FX having the balls to air it, but while some are offended, for me, a word is just a word until you give it power. I’m a rare commentor but have been with you since the beginning. I’m over the reality shows really but I’m excited to discuss this. BTW I know this is the wrong post but thank you thank you thank you Allie for the Tresemme hair mask review. I’m with you …. amazing!!!!

    Liked by 4 people

    • Welcome piggys mommy!! No such thing as a wrong post 😉 I thought Faye Dunaway was so great as JC-too great. And I’m totally with you on words only having the power you give them-that’s a great way to look at things ❤️

      Like

  9. Just finished watching the first episode. I thought it was brilliant. The opening titles reminded me of something Hitchcock would do for one of his movies. Loved Jessica Lange and Susan Sarandon in their respective roles. It seems as though Ryan Murphy is on a TV winning streak.

    Liked by 3 people

      • I had that same thought about Murphy and Spelling. This isn’t a Murphy show, but surprisingly, I like new teen drama Riverdale. It is based on Archie comic characters updated, In some ways reminds me of 90210, which I seldom watched. I am only surprised at myself, because the characters could easily be my grandchildren. It is written as a mystery. I couldn’t get into Vanderpump Rules due to the generations gap. They seem just so unlikable to me.

        I am glad Shades of Blue is back on with JLo and Ray Liotta. They play some really tough unscrupulous cops.

        Like

  10. I don’t think the Charles Diana feud is right, everyone basically knows what happened and I don’t think it’s right for William or Harry, they have to deal with enough shit. Us brits can get very protective over those boys… so don’t mess lol

    Liked by 3 people

  11. I thought it didn’t disappoint, at all. I am hoping the rest of the season is as enthralling as the first episode. Stanley Tucci is a national treasure…..”CUNT” bawahahahaha

    Liked by 2 people

  12. Watched it on demand last night. Loved it!!
    Who was Hedda Hopper? I have not heard that name before. Is there a back story with her?

    Like

  13. Just finished the episode. Holy crap this is amazing!!

    I was expecting the C word, but not the uses of fuck.

    Judy Davis is wonderful and i loved Catherine Zeta Jones Douglas (haha) as Olivia de Havilland.

    Their rivalry and the competition between them is so great and Jessica Lange and Susan Sarandon are perfect in their roles!

    Im hooked!!!!

    As for the next season the Charles and princess Diana, I know I’ll watch, but ffs, leave it alone. What more is there to show? Have some respect for William and Harry.

    Also, I really believe that Queen Elizabeth is immortal. Lol. That old bird is going to outlive Charles by minutes if she can help it.

    Mousie, is it true that Camilla will not technically be queen? I just want William and Catherine to be King and Queen. I love them and am obsessed! Does that sound creepy and weird? Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

