Bad Side Of The Globes

I love fashion as much as I love makeup-and let’s not even discuss shoes. I effin LOVE shoes. Now that doesn’t mean I know a thing about fashion except that I know what I like, and I know what I don’t. That said-on with last night’s Golden Globe red carpet:

WORST DRESSED 


Sarah Jessica Parker in Vera Wang. I’d like it better without the half-sleeve thingies.


Emily Ratajkowski in Reem Acra. She’s got an amazing body and this does nothing for it. Too much.


Jessica Biel in Elie Saab. Are those stuffed animals dangling? The pattern in the skirt is just-what?


Nicole Kidman in Alexander McQueen. Again with the half sleeve things. Why? I just feel like there’s way too much going on.


Carrie Underwood in Iris Serban. I hate hate these ruffles. I don’t like ruffles anyway but these-noe NOE.


Janelle Monae in Armani. The whole skirt just looks messy-the poof, the tulle, the dots. Omg dots!


Zoe Saldana in Gucci. It looks like rags. With a bow. I’ll pass.


Felicity Jones in Gucci. What’s going on with Gucci? I can’t find anything I like about this. Not even the color.


Chrissy Teigen in Marchesa. Chrissy is usually a hit with me but I’m not a fan of this peplum or the blue color mixed with the gold.


Hailee Steinfeld in Vera Wang. It’s the weird half sleeves again, guys. I can’t. I feel like this dress is too aging on her. 


Thandie Newton in Monse. I hate the bottom. I get what the designer was going for but it didn’t translate. 


Kerry Washington in Dolce and Gabbana. Nope. All of it. Nope. it looks super heavy, wtf is going on at her waist? She looks uncomfortable and I can’t blame her. 
Next up: Best Dressed ❤️ what do you think about these?

Talk soon, Lovelies 

-Allie

66 thoughts on “Bad Side Of The Globes

  1. Nicole Kidman always wears the worst colors for her skin tone. Always with the pales and greys. She’s so fair skinned. She needs colors that don’t wash her out.

    Liked by 3 people

  2. I’m not digging ANY of the half sleeved ruffly nonsense! It all looks cheap to me! I don’t get how such crazy things become trends.
    To each their own, I just prefer the look of understated gowns that envelop a sense of timeless beauty.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When SJP gets it wrong, she really gets it wrong. The dress, hair and make-up are terrible.
    I appreciate that she tries to push fashion boundaries but it’s just not working here. That hair only looks good on the, “Swiss Miss Girl”.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. Felicity Jones for worst dressed on Fashion Police! But she has some stiff competition. I’d like SJP to win worst dress, just because it’s SJP. What was she thinking?

    A lot of these dresses made me think they were all wearing Project Runway dresses. Sigh.

    Like

  5. The half peek a boo sleeve thing is bad enough but what makes it worse is I have seen both Tamra and Vicki wear it, thus sullying our beautiful Orange County landscape. And it looks as cheap as they usually do. I hope the trend vanishes.

    #committothesleeve

    Liked by 1 person

  6. SJP the worst. I did kinda of liked Zoe’s dress. Kerry W, looks like she has a snake coming around from the back of her dress. I also think the length is wrong for Kerry’s dress. Janelle with the polka dots and cotton candy hair. Pass. I really want to think that Chrissy T’s dress looked good in person and just photographed all wrong. Nicole K. Bad, where was she?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Nicole was amazing! It is clearly over the top, but most high end french couture gowns are. Alexander McQueen can do no wrong in my opinion.

    However, why does SJP look like one of the witches from Hocus Pocus? The makeup? The hair? I just can’t shake that movie out of my mind now.

    Like

  8. Sjp, no! Worst dressed. She needs to keep her hair around her face, she has not aged well. The dress, no! Fire the stylist that keeps pulling her hair back. My cat was scared. I didn’t think Chrissy Tiegen’s was as offensive as some. Thanks for the pics Allie❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • The heavy eye make-up just accentuates the fact that she has tiny inset eyes that are too small for her face. I admire that she embraces who she is and hasn’t had extreme plastic surgery.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I know I saw pics of SJP and they were making Grimm Reaper jokes about her hands. The same thing happened with Nicole. I’m wondering if this was done on purpose to hide the hands? SJP and that dress need to just go. Nicole’s dress isn’t that bad. I just can’t put my finger on it. The spaghetti straps with those sleeves.

    Is that why they used to wear so many gloves? You can always help aging with a great plastic surgeon. There is nothing to do for the hands though.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I read an interview with Nicole years ago and she joked about how she had, “granny hands”. She admitted they were her worst feature and that she takes pains to hide them in pictures.
      (I’m depressed that info is wasting precious space in my brain. LoL )

      Like

      • Oh it’s even better. How about bacteriotherapy? That would be when a doctor puts someone else’s fecal matter into your intestines to restore microbial balance. Swear to god. And can I get a hell naw?

        Like

      • So, it’s actually not as gross as you think it is. The “good” bacteria is removed and used to help balance and get rid of the “bad” bacteria your body has. There’s a disease where this method is pretty much a cure. I thought it was really gross at first and then I learned more about it. Basically, you donate like you would blood. You go to a facility, like a Blood bank and poop and they take it an “clean it.”

        On another note, can we have a thread for random crap? I just got a text from the hubs asking why I bought two 6-drawer organizers (was 2 a mistake) and why I needed them…. ummm, because I have a crap ton of scrap booking stuff that he gets annoyed at being in the office and I want to organize it so it’s not in his way. DUH! Besides… I NEED IT. LOL

        Liked by 1 person

  10. That hideous black and white number that Janelle Monae wore is Armani? Really? Armani? Really???? I’m gobsmacked!

    SJP looks like a cross between Heidi and the Bride of Frankenstein. Bloody awful. And what is going on with her face these days???? I’m sorry but she looks bloody awful in the face. Age is not doing her any favours.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Also, I wish celebrities would stop using Vera Wang. I just find every ‘event’ dress she does is just another wedding dress or bridesmaid dress. Just because it’s custom doesn’t mean it’s haute couture.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree. I like it on her. If you think about it as a potential homage or having been influenced by the black and white Givenchy dress Audrey Hepburn wore in the movie Sabrina it makes sense. Now it could have nothing to do with that reference and be an 80’s, meets sequins, meets dots, meets 1/2 a peplum crazy mess but she still carries it off.

      Like

  12. I normally love whatever Nicole Kidman wears, and that dress is lovely. I do see what she’s going for, she’s known for her perfect porcelain skin, and that dress hilights it, she just looked more striking as a red head instead of that washed out blonde she’s got on her head.

    Loved the Marchesa on Chrissy.

    I bet that Monse dress looks much better IRL.

    And, finally, I would give my house for that Armani polka dot number! I totally heart that dress.

    Like

Leave a Reply

